Honey Ginger Cake / Pastel de Miel y Jengibre

For Christmas i wanted to give something to my neighbors before we left on vacation for the holidays. I started thinking and Dan suggested I should bake them a ginger cake. I´ve baked this a few times and each time it was a revelation. I thought it was a great idea and went to the supermarket to get the stuff i needed.

If you are bored with traditional gingerbread for Christmas, this is a fantastic replacement. Aromatic , spicy, honey , soft, moist …I can go on and on  about how great this cake is. I wrapped and gave it to them and on the same day i got soooo many compliments and one of my neighbors said it was the best cake she has ever had. Wuhoo!

Anyhow… here is my recipe, enjoy!honeyginger

INGREDIENTS:
- 500 g of flour
– 3 teaspoons of baking powder
– 3 teaspoons of baking soda
– 150 g of brown sugar
– 1 tsp gingerbread spice
– 500 g golden syrup or honey
– 250g butter
– 300 ml of milk (i used coconut milk)
– 2 eggsINSTRUCTIONS:
-Preheat the oven to 355 degrees F. Oil your baking pan (I used one 10 inches round pan) and cover with parchment paper on top.

- In a large bowl, mix all dry ingredients and in a small saucepan pour honey and butter and heat until combined.- Break the eggs into a bowl and beat lightly. Add some milk to the honey mixture and mix together until the ingrediens are fully combined. Set aside to cool.

- When the honey mixture is warm, combine all the ingredients to make a dough.
- Pour the dough into the baking pan and bake for about 1 h 15 min.
You can sprinkle powdered sugar with cinnamon and voila!

——————————————————————————————————————————————–

En esta navidad que quería darle algo a mis vecinos antes irnos de vacaciones por las fiestas. Me puse a pensar y Dan me sugirió que debería hornear un pastel de jengibre. He horneado esto unas cuantas veces y cada vez fue maravilloso. Era una gran idea y fui al supermercado a conseguir las cosas que me hacían falta.

Si están aburridos del pastel de fruta cristalizada (yo lo odio) o del tradicional pastel de jengibre les aseguro que con este pastel quedaran cachetones con sus familiares. Es aromático, picante, dulce, y esponjoso… puedo seguir y seguir sobre lo sabroso que es este pastel. Envolví las tortas, los entregue y para mi sorpresa el mismo día el pastel (y yo) tuvo tantos elogios ; hasta uno de mis vecinos dijeron que era la mejor tarta que jamás haya tenido. Wuhoo! De todos modos … aquí está mi receta, buen provecho!


INGREDIENTES:
– 500 g de harina
– 3 cucharaditas de polvo de hornear
– 3 cucharaditas de bicarbonato de sodio
– 150 g de azúcar moreno
– 1 cucharadita de jengibre especias
– 500 g de miel de caña o miel
– Mantequilla 250g
– 300 ml de leche (yo usé leche de coco)
– 2 huevos

INSTRUCCIONES:

-Precalentar el horno a 355 grados F. Engrasar su molde para hornear (yo usé uno de 10 pulgadas redondo) y cubrir con papel pergamino en la parte superior.
– En un bowl grande, mezclen todos los ingredientes secos y en una cacerola pequeña viertan la miel y la mantequilla amarilla y calentar hasta que se mezclen.
– Quebrar los huevos en un bowl y batir ligeramente. Añadir un poco de leche a la miel y mezclar hasta que los ingrediens están completamente combinados. Dejar enfriar.
– Cuando la mezcla de miel este tibia, combine todos los ingredientes para hacer una masa.
– Vierta la masa en el molde y hornear durante aproximadamente 1 h 15 min.

Se puede espolvorear con azúcar en polvo con canela y ¡voilá!

6 thoughts on “Honey Ginger Cake / Pastel de Miel y Jengibre

    • I would encourage you to use your imagination and crystallized ginger sounds great! You may use regular ginger but im sure it will have a spicier kick to it, let me know how it comes out :)

Leave a Reply

